Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation


Main content start

Interdisciplinary Team

Our team comprises experts from diverse fields, including neuroscience, psychology, psychiatry, computer science, design innovation research, and management science.

Current Positions

  • Instructor (faculty), Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University
  • Human Factors Specialist at NATO 
  • Empowerment Coach, Stanford University

Honors & Awards (selected)

  • K99/R00 NIH Pathway to Independence Award (2023)
  • Stanford Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Champion Award (2023)
  • Postdoctoral Fellowship, Stanford Center for Automotive Research (2019)
  • Postdoctoral Fellowship, Norwegian Centres of Expertise (2018)
  • Predoctoral Fellowship SCANCOR, Stanford University (2017)
Senior Research Scholar, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Lara Foland-Ross, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow, Clinical Psychology

Zoe Brier, PhD

PhD Candidate, Aeronautics and Astronautics

Marc Schlichting

Alana Willsey
PhD Candidate, Clinical Psychology

Alana Willsey

MS Design Engineering

Izma Shabbir

Constance Horng
MS Computer Science (AI)

Constance Horng

BS Symbolic Systems (Neuroscience)

Kheli Atluru

Troy Schouten
BS Symbolic Systems (Natural Language)

Troy Schouten

Anam Mughal
BS Molecular and Cell Biology @ UC Berkeley

Anam Mughal

Advisory Board

Allan Reiss
Howard C. Robbins Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Professor of Radiology

Allan L. Reiss, MD

Debra Kaysen
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences (Public Mental Health & Population Sciences)

Debra L. Kaysen, PhD

Mykel Kochenderfer
Associate Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics and, by courtesy, of Computer Science

Mykel Kochenderfer, PhD

Hannah Valantine
Professor of Medicine (Cardiovascular)

Hannah Valantine, MD

Stanford Collaborators

Larry John Leifer
Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Emeritus

Larry Leifer, PhD

Ade Mabogunje
Senior Research Engineer (Mechanical Engineering)

Ade Mabogunje, PhD

Riitta Katila
W.M. Keck Professor and Professor of Management Science and Engineering

Riitta Katila, PhD

Marion S. Buckwalter
Professor of Neurology and Neurosurgery

Marion Buckwalter, MD, PhD

Miriam B. Goodman
Professor of Cell Biology

Miriam Goodman, PhD

Victor G. Carrión
Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Victor Carrión, MD

Crystal Botham
Director and Founder, Biosciences Grant Writing Academy

Crystal Botham, PhD

Magali Fassioto
Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Diversity

Magali Fassiotto, PhD

External Collaborators

Dr. Carl Weems
Professor and Chair, Department of Human Development and Family Studies, Iowa State University

Carl Weems, PhD

Jonas Miller
Assistant Professor in Psychological Sciences, University of Connecticut

Jonas Miller, PhD

Associate Professor at the Jacobs Technion-Cornell Institute at Cornell Tech and the Technion

Wendy Ju, PhD

Chair, Human Factors Specialist Team of Joint Commission Group Unmanned Aerial Systems for North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

LCDR Joseph Geeseman, PhD

Philip von Guggenberg
Director, Business Development, Advanced Technology & Systems Division, SRI International

Philip von Guggenberg, PhD